Dinner Rolls

I have been lurking around Frieda’s Dinner Rolls for quite a while now, but I was so busy with the BBA Challenge and baking for the holidays that I never got around to baking them.

The other day, I realized that we didn’t have any bread for dinner the next day, and I didn’t have any time for a BBA bread because of work, so I decided to try the Make Ahead Dinner Rolls. The good thing about these is, that they rise in the refrigerator and you can use them anywhere from 2 – 24 hours. For these rolls I used the knotting technique which you can find here. I sprinkled them with sesame seed, flaxseed and poppy seed, and they turned out really nice, I think.

I also figured, I could use half of the dough to make the Brown N Serve Rolls so we could have them any other day.

You make the dough, shape rolls (I made clover leaves), let them rise and parbake them at 275°F for 20-25 minutes. Then you cool them on the pan for another 20 minutes, remove them from the pan and finish cooling on racks, and finally you put them in plastic bags and refrigerate them up to 1 week. The day you want to eat them, you preheat the oven and bake the rolls out of the refrigerator for about 10 minutes until they are golden brown. This technique worked like a charm, and my family was totally thrilled with these cute, little rolls. They taste like what is known as a “Milchbrötchen” (milk roll) here – YUM!

5 responses to “Dinner Rolls

  1. Ah yes! Frieda is the Roll Queen! You’ve done quite a beautiful job with them yourself! Delicious!

  2. I am thrilled that this recipe worked for you…your rolls are stunning!

  3. I just picked up some flax seed yesterday…such an interesting flavor for any bread!

  4. Your rolls sound delicious! Thanks for sharing🙂

Leave a Reply

