BBA Challenge #25: Pizza Napoletana

I’m still trying to clear the backlog: I’ve baked the Portuguese Sweet Bread (#27 in the BBA Challenge) last night, but I have to catch up on posting. So here’s another post on my adventures sailing through the “Bread Oceans” – next harbor: Naples.

My hubby  had been asking for a while already when we would have self-made pizza again. I just told him it was only 3-2-1 more breads in the Challenge till we’d get to the Pizza Napoletana.  When it was finally the aforementioned bread’s turn, 3 kids and 1 hubby got really excited because they were to put their favorite toppings on the pizza.

I decided to make only half the recipe because I didn’t have enough room in the freezer to store  the remaining dough. First, I mixed together the flour (which had been in the refrigerator for a day or two), salt, yeast, olive oil and ice-cold water. The dough was supposed to clear the sides of the bowl,  but to stick to the bottom. That was kind of tricky, but I finally managed by adding a little more water.  Then I cut the dough into 5 pieces: 3 small ones for the kids and 2 bigger ones for us parents. These pieces had to be gently formed into balls, be put on a pan, covered with plastic wrap and put in the fridge for an overnight rise. The next day I pressed the dough into disks about 1/2 inch thick, covered it and let it rest for 2 hours. I didn’t want to try the toss method (I don’t know why, but I thought it would be just too annoying), so I rolled out the disks with a rolling pin and put it back on the pan. Then I again deviated from the recipe: it always happens that the crust is all soggy, so I decided to par-bake the crusts for about 3 minutes. I watched the crusts in the oven closely, so they wouldn’t get too dark, and – this really surprised me – they were ballooning up like pita dough would do. I guess, this dough makes nice pita. In this case, it was kind of annoying, though because this was supposed to be pizza dough. When I took them out of the oven they deflated a little – additionally, I pressed the dough down.

In the evening, everyone could choose his favorite topping and put it on the pizza. Hubby went for peperoni (salami) and chillies on one half, and ham, pineapple and mushrooms on the other half (so he thought, but he forgot the ham and was irritated why this half tasted kinda weird – too sweet ;-)), the kids went for a weird combination of peperoni, ham, pineapple and cheese, and I chose the classic Pizza Tonno (tuna, onions and cheese). I finished baking the pizzas (which took about 5 more minutes. Even though I didn’t really follow the instructions, I thought this was a really tasty pizza, and so did hubby and the kids. So this is definitely a keeper (is that a word at all?).

10 responses to “BBA Challenge #25: Pizza Napoletana

  1. Definitely a keeper!

  2. Your pizza looks great! If your pizza dough is thin, you will not need to parbake it. Try stretching your pizza dough by picking it up and letting it hang. Rolling it out will take out all those little holes that you may enjoy. I’m glad you enjoyed the flavor enough to try it again~

  3. This is my family’s favorite pizza dough too.
    I love it with some salty cheese and maybe anchovies or sliced baby artichokes.

  4. I love this pizza dough! It’s become one of my favorites. I like all the different topping you used. Yummy!

  5. Tuna on pizza, boy does that take me back to growing up at home. My mom always put tuna on our homemade pizzas.

    You did a great job. Your pizzas look yummy!

  6. I don’t remember if you have a bread/pizza stone, but I find the heat from it really makes a difference in fast cooking the crust while the toppings bake slower. I loved this dough, and while I didn’t dare toss it, it was stretchy enough to roll thin.

    Great looking Pizzas by the way!

  7. Yum! I am really excited for this one! And of course I don’t mind if you make a similar list on the sidebar . . . I find it’s so helpful to be able to quickly find a particular bread post!

  8. Pingback: Mellow Bakers June 2010 – Beer Bread and Pizza « Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

