BBA Challenge #20: Multigrain Bread Extraordinaire

Next bread on the BBA Challenge lineup – Multigrain Bread Extraordinaire. My friend Sara from Three Clever Sistes wasn’t too excited about this bread (as you can read here), so I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this recipe. In the end, I was pleasantly surprised. This was indeed an outstanding bread.

The bread started with a soaker. Peter Reinhart lists many options for the soaker – I used polenta, rolled oats (I always  flake my own oats with the FlicFloc Flaker) and wheat bran. The next day the soaker had to be mixed with high-gluten flour (I have started adding vital wheat gluten to my type 1050 flour when the recipe calls for high-gluten flour), brown sugar, salt, yeast, honey, milk and water. The formula also uses a small amount of cooked brown rice, but I was in a hurry and didn’t have time to cook rice. I could have done that the day before when I prepared the soaker, but at that point I didn’t think about the rice at all. Anyway, I just replaced the rice with an equal amount of flaxseed because I have used it for other multigrain breads before and thought it tasted wonderful.

As my friend Sara already noted: the dough was overly hydrated. As I wanted to use part of the dough for making rolls I couldn’t just pour the dough into a loaf pan and bake it. So I added WAY more flour so the dough was “tacky, but not sticky”😉. I fermented it for 90 minutes, then formed 12 bâtards which I put in my recently acquired baguette pan and covered it with plastic wrap. There was quite a bit of dough left, so I was running over the shaping pages of the book and thought this was the perfect time to have a shot at the Couronne. So that’s what I did. I covered the Couronne with plastic wrap, too, and stuck everything in the refrigerator because we went out to eat and wouldn’t be back after 90 minutes.

When we got back I took everything out of the refrigerator and let it proof for about 60 minutes. The rolls and couronne rose beautifully as you can see in the following pictures.

I scored the rolls (even though I have a lame now I’m still having trouble scoring my breads, so I used a sharp knife), put everything in the oven and baked it. We had the rolls for dinner the same evening – the kids and I were thrilled. My husband thought the rolls were too sweet, but that was exactly what I liked about the rolls. The leftover rolls were toasted the next day and were even better then. The same goes for the bread that we toasted another day later. This multigrain bread makes an INCREDIBLE toast and the recipe already snatched a place on my Make-Again list.

2 responses to “BBA Challenge #20: Multigrain Bread Extraordinaire

  1. I loved the sweetness of this one, too! I’m glad to hear yours was really hydrated; I couldn’t find anyone else who mentioned that when I was struggling with it! You were smart to add extra flour; I just kept waiting and waiting for it to achieve the appropriate texture and it never did. Also, I really struggled with the brown rice…Thanks for the idea about flax; I love it and didn’t even think to sub it in! Will definitely do that next time.

  2. Pingback: The Modern Baker Challenge: Breads – Seven Grain and Seed Bread | Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

