BBA Challenge #17: Lavash Crackers & Pita Bread

I wasn’t too excited about making these crackers because so many people participating in the BBA Challenge had been disappointed. So much work for just a little result…

Flour, salt, yeast, honey, oil and water were mixed together. Even though Peter Reinhart wrote that the dough would be almost as stiff as bagel dough and therefore it would be easier to knead it by hand than in a machine I used my kitchen machine and didn’t have any problems. After 90 minutes of fermentation I had to roll out the dough into a paper-thin sheet about 15 inches by 12 inches. This is where I paused for a moment. Wait, 15 by 12 inches? That is 38 by 30 centimeters, my pan is only 35 by 29 cm, so there would be some dough left. Anyway, this again is another example for the fact that everything in the US seems to be bigger. I guess, the most famous example is an American refrigerator. Americans would be amazed how my standard German refrigerator (here‘s a similar one – the upper part is the refrigerator, the bottom part is the freezer) holds food for 5 people for a week – yes, I go grocerie shopping once a week only. I’m wandering from the subject now.

So, I had some dough left. Then the fun part began. These are the spices I used: white sesame seeds, black sesame seeds, salt, kurkuma, paprika, garlic flakes, thyme, curry, and Italian herbs. I think the result looked pretty nice!

I cut stripes in the dough and baked it for about 10 minutes. The crackers were eaten just right out of the oven. The kids didn’t like them at all, but I thought they were pretty tasty. I don’t think I will make them again, though. I think the result is just not rewarding enough…

And what happened with the remaining dough? I stuck it in the refrigerator for 2 days and read through the Cracker chapter again to find that this dough makes a nice pita bread.

You have to roll out 6-ounce-pieces of the dough into a circle and bake them in a 500°F oven on a sheet pan. OK, 6 oz? How much dough was left? Exactly 5,95 oz. Perfect! So I rolled it out, stuck in the hot oven and baked it just until it inflated and formed a pocket. Then, Peter Reinhart says, you have to count to 10, remove the bread from the oven, let it cool to deflate and cut in half then. That’s what I did, and I was impressed by the inflation in the oven. I was kind of afraid the pocket would explode so I counted to 8 only and removed the bread from the oven then. But look at the following pictures that show the process pretty nicely. I was really proud at the bottom of the pita bread because it exactly looked like the bottom of commercial pita breads I remember.

So, even though I won’t make this dough for crackers again, I’m pretty sure I’ll make it again to bake pita bread. It looked nice, tasted like pita bread and it’s a welcome change for my picky eaters at home😉.

5 responses to “BBA Challenge #17: Lavash Crackers & Pita Bread

  1. I should try the pita dough option. I think that’s the problem with my crackers–they seemed to want to be pita bread and I wanted them to be crackers. So much store bought pita bread is insipid, I bet homemade pita would be much better. (Why did I just use the word insipid? Too much historical fiction lately).

  2. I didn’t make pita this last time, but I loved the flavor of the lavash crackers so I had already decided that this dough would be my new go-to pita bread dough! I’m glad to see you gave it a try, now I know for sure that it will work🙂

  3. Pingback: The Daring Cooks’ Challenges 02/10: Mezze « Family & Food

  4. Pingback: The Modern Baker Challenge: Breads – Pita Bread « Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

