BBA Challenge #4: Brioche

Brioche

Bread #4 of the BBA Challenge: Brioche. This bread looked really appealing to me due to its shape. Also, my friend Sara is kind of obsessed with Brioche and has posted about it twice already (here and here). So it was time to give it a try.

I was thinking of getting brioche pans, but could only find online sources – they would charge more for the shipment than for the pan. I didn’t want to spend that much money on simple brioche pans, so I dug out my Bundt Cake pan to give the Brioche a special look.

I read quite a few posts about the BBA Brioche – virtually everyone was going with the Rich Man’s or the Middle-Class version. I wanted to save on the butter, so I chose the Poor Man’s Brioche (1/2 recipe again – seems like I’m always going for the 1/2 recipe version even though we are 2 adults and 3 kids- one question to all the people that make the original recipes: who eats all the bread????).

I made a sponge and fermented it for 40 minutes. Then I added all the ingredients to make the dough (eggs, type 1050 flour, sugar, salt and butter). The butter was worked in after a 5-minute rest so the gluten could begin to develop. I let my kitchen machine knead the dough for about 8 minutes, put the dough in an oiled bowl and fermented it for about 90 minutes. I formed the dough into a rope and transferred it to the Bundt Cake pan where it proofed for about 60 minutes. I brushed the top with egg wash and continued proofing for another 25 minutes. Then I baked it in the preheated oven for approximately 40 minutes.

risen brioche out of the oven Bundt Cake Brioche

Next time I’ll definitely go for the middle-class version, because the brioche indeed was  like a sandwich bread. A plain German white bread. Hmm… If I had made it in a loaf pan my family wouldn’t even have noticed it was supposed to be a special bread. I also gave in and ordered Brioche pans (no shipment fee, though – I love Amazon!) together with a new digital scale that measures metrically AND ounces (I’m kind of tired of converting all the BBA measures into our metric system) and a digital food thermometer that measures °C and °F. Yay!!!

2 responses to “BBA Challenge #4: Brioche

  1. Pingback: Modern Baker Challenge – Quick Brioche Braid | Family & Food & Other Things

  2. Pingback: Mellow Bakers November 2010: Brioche | Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

