BBA Challenge #2: Greek Celebration Bread

Greek Celebration Bread

Being away for 2 weeks of vacation led to a big pile of posts waiting to be written. As I want to get on with the BBA Challenge, a bread post is going to be the first post after the break.

The second bread on the lineup was a Greek Celebration Bread. I chose the basic version even though I felt intrigued by the nice shape of the Christopsomos. This will have to wait for a special occasion, though.

I made the poolish version because I didn’t have any barm on hand and I didn’t feel like making any😉.

First, I made the poolish and let it sit overnight. The next day I mixed the flour (type 550), salt, ground nutmeg and some plum butter spice (I didn’t have ground allspice – I don’t even know what that is, neither did I have ground cloves, so I gave the plum butter spice a shot because it consists of cinnamon, anise, lemon zest, cloves, ginger and star anise). I added the poolish, eggs, honey, oil and milk, and skipped the extracts (there was lemon zest in the plum butter spice) and mixed everything on low speed with my new kitchen machine – yes, now I own one, too🙂. I had to add more flour so it would become a tacky, but not sticky ball. Then I oiled a bowl, and rolled the ball around so it would be coated with the oil. I covered the bowl and let it ferment at room temperature for about 90 minutes. I shaped it into a boule – I wasn’t sure at all I could do this because I wasn’t sure I understood the instruction right, but it worked out totally fine. I placed the boule on a pan lined with baking paper and let it proof for 90 more minutes – it was a giant boule after that (I’m glad I had started with only half the recipe!). I preheated the oven and baked the loaf. I didn’t make the glaze because I didn’t want to eat sticky bread.

I was impressed by the nice shape of the bread (I guess, now I’m learning how to make nice loafs – I’ve been baking bread for quite a while, but usually I used my bread machine or loaf pans because I never really knew how to make nice-looking loafs). It tasted good, it reminded me of Christmas, though. It was more like a winter bread than a summer bread in my opinion. But I’ll make it again for Christmas maybe, and then I’ll try the Christopsomos shape!

2 responses to “BBA Challenge #2: Greek Celebration Bread

  1. You do have a perfectly shaped loaf (boule?). I loved that bread, but it also made me think of Christmas. But maybe by that time of year we’ll be up to the pannetone!

  2. This is a good lookin’ loaf of bread! I’m not a big fan of having fruit in my bread, but I think I will try the version you did….I started the BBA challenge with ciabatta and have been working from there. I’ll have to catch up on the others. Thanks for a great post~

Leave a Reply

