Redcurrants

Harvest

I haven’t written much lately – bad time management, I guess. Actually, I’m away too often to pick and buy fruits and make different jams and such, so there’s no time anymore to post about everything. I’ll try to clear the backlog, though.

I’m so glad there is a PYO (Pick your own) near by: there you can pick strawberries, redcurrants, blackcurrants, and NOW blueberries. So, 3 weeks ago I took my 3 kids to pick some redcurrants. It was the kids’ first PYO, and they obviously enjoyed it – I guess, the best part for them was shoveling redcurrants into their mouths😉.

PYO Redcurrants PYO Redcurrants

These pictures were taken with my cameraphone, that’s why the quality is not that high.

We picked about 5 lb of redcurrants for € 1/ lb which is a pretty good deal. Plus, we had fun picking. I didn’t really want to go home with our harvest because preparing redcurrants for being processed is NO fun at all. But I just love redcurrants jam soooo much that I think it’s worth the time and effort.

I used 3 lb of redcurrants to make jam. I’ve been into using agar-agar lately to make jam to avoid the preserving agents in most gelling sugars. Also, this way  I can vary the amount of sugar to taste. For the redcurrants jam I took about 0,4 oz of agar-agar and 1 lb of sugar which means there are 3 parts of fruits and 1 part of sugar. I LOVE jam, but it mustn’t be too sweet, so 3:1 with redcurrants is just perfect!

As I wanted to try out what else I could do with agar-agar I tried to make a coconut milk jelly with redcurrants. Thanks to a good friend of mine I was able to understand the instructions on the agar-agar package  – I ‘m learning Japanese, but THIS is still way too difficult😉.

Kanten front Kanten back

Anyway, I had 450 ml / 2 cups coconut milk in my freezer that I wanted to use up, so I mixed it with 4 g / 0,14 oz of agar-agar, put it on a stove and brought it to a boil, lowered the heat to “medium” and let it boil for about 2 minutes. Then I added some sugar to taste. I let it cool off for a little while and poured it into cups. I let it stand for another  minute or so and added some redcurrants. I put the cups in the fridge and the next day I turned it out onto a plate. This was the result:

coconut milk jelly

My husband, my son and I really enjoyed this dessert – my daugthers weren’t really enthusiastic about it, though.

Now I really look forward to picking some blueberries (the day after tomorrow if it’s not raining) and morello cherries (on Monday). Can’t wait to make cherry jam!

3 responses to “Redcurrants

  1. Yum! I love currants. Another thing I ate a ton of in the Czech Republic (along with currant juice). I recently learned why they aren’t grown much in the US–apparently about 100 years ago, there was some sort of virus or bug that incubated on the currant tree (without harming it) but then went on to kill some sort of pine or elm tree so all the currants had to be pulled up. (Weird life cycle eh?). Now I think it’s controllable but people aren’t that familiar with it.

    • Yep, White Pine Blister Rust. I’ve stumbled upon it a while ago when I was wondering why in the US they don’t really know redcurrants…

  2. Pingback: Blueberries: cake, yet another cake and preserves « Family & Food

Leave a Reply

