Lemon & Lime Syrup with Mint and Lemon Balm

Lemon Syrup with Mint and Lemon Balm

I grow quite a lot of herbs in my backyard, and I’m proud to say that I’m kinda successful with my mint and lemon balm. Well, I think it’s not really hard to grow these herbs, but still… They are growing like crazy and I have so much of them that I don’t really know how to use everything up. Thus, I was looking for recipes that would use LOTS of mint and lemon balm, and found a syrup that sounds really delicious. It takes 2 days to make it, but the result is so yummy that it’s really worth the wait. It’s so refreshing that it’s just perfect for a warm day.  I have to admit, I made five 1 pint bottles 4 weeks ago and all of them are gone now! Obviously, I did something wrong – I wanted to PRESERVE the herbs grown in my backyard😉.

I adapted this recipe a little bit because I have Moroccan Mint in my backyard, and not peppermint and spearmint the recipe asks for, and I also  increased the  amount of lemon balm and mint because, well yes, I have so much of them. Without further ado, here’s my recipe:

  • 500 g/ 18 oz organic lemons
  • 250g/ 9 oz  organic limes
  • 360 ml/ 1,5 cups bottled lemon juice (juice of appr. 11 lemons)
  • 2 l/ 0,5 gal water
  • 1 kg/ 2,2 lb sugar
  • 12 g/ 0,42 oz citric acid
  • 2 handful lemon balm
  • 4 handful mint

Clean lemons and limes and peel them with a vegetable peeler. Put the peel in a big pot. Juice the lemons and limes and put juice in the fridge. Wash and dry mint and lemon balm. Add herbs to the pot, add water, cover the pot and allow to stand cool overnight.

Next day add the pressed lemon and lime juice, bottled lemon juice and citric acid to the pot and allow to stand for another half day.

lemon and lime peel herbs added juiced lemons and limes

Then, add the sugar to the pot and heat everything up slowly. Just before boiling, remove from heat and sieve to another pot. Fill into clean, hot bottles and close well. Can the bottles in a waterbath for approximately 10 minutes.

To enjoy, thin down with water/mineral water. I used the ratio 1 part syrup : 5 parts water.

Makes five 500 ml/ 1 pint bottles.

5 responses to “Lemon & Lime Syrup with Mint and Lemon Balm

  1. I was looking forward to this post after our emails yesterday. Looks SO good. I unfortunately can’t get my mint to grow so I don’t have this problem. I’ve had mint lemonade and it is so delicious. I’m sure you’ve tried steeping the mint in hot water just for a mint tea as well?

    I don’t know much of what lemon balm tastes like though I imagine, like lemon! Do you even notice its flavor in a lemon syrup? Does it just make it more intense?

    It sounds like it would make such a delicious summer lemonade. I will have to try growing lemon balm next year just for this!

  2. Pingback: Lemon & Lime Syrup with Mint and Lemon Balm « Family & Food

  3. this. looks. awesome. thanks for the post! i’m gonna try this one!

  4. I love working with syrups and add them often to frosting and sauces!

Leave a Reply

