Potato Pancakes with Carrots and Parsnip

Potato pancakes

This week’s eco-box contained parsnip and carrots, amongst others. I remember parsnip from cooking baby food for my kids, and was never really inspired to buy parsnips for any other dish due to its strong flavor. And even though I can ask the farm to just take a certain vegetable out of the box if I don’t like it at all, I kind of find it challenging to find dishes that use up the veggies in my eco-box. So I was searching the internet again and the search result was this recipe from “Got no milk” blog. I tripled the recipe to use up all the parsnip. Also, I figured it should be possible to freeze whatever is left after the meal. I didn’t expect these potato pancakes to be really delicious (eatable, though), but I was wrong. I served them with apple sauce and we absolutely enjoyed the meal! Here’s the recipe (makes 25 pancakes):

  • 6 large potatoes
  • 3 medium parsnips
  • 3 medium carrots
  • 1 onion
  • 3 medium eggs
  • 6 tblsp flour
  • 3 teasp salt
  • 3/4 teasp freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup canola oil

Peel and grate potatoes, parsnips, carrots and onion (I used a v-slicer for really thin juliennes). Combine in a bowl, add eggs, flour, salt and pepper. Stir well.

Pour some oil in a large skillet. Put about 1 tblsp of the mixture into the hot oil and flatten it a little bit. Repeat until  skillet is full. Cook pancakes over medium heat until golden brown (about 3-4 minutes per side).

Serve hot with apple sauce.

Golden brown potato pancakes

One response to “Potato Pancakes with Carrots and Parsnip

  1. I’ve roasted parsnips with olive oil in the oven (cut up into french-fry size pieces and discarding the woody center). If they have been exposed to cold they are so sweet! Thansk for the recipe though, I feel like it’s hard (for me at least) to know what to do with these root veggies.

Leave a Reply

