Rhubarb Season (1) – Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb Muffins

I’ve never been much into rhubarb. I remember my childhood containing lots of rhubarb, especially in form of rhubarb semolina pudding. This wasn’t really something to get me addicted to rhubarb🙂, even though I’m addicted to semolina pudding (which is made of semolina wheat and might be compared to cream of wheat or grits). I don’t know how, but a couple years ago I discovered that rhubarb makes perfect jam, particularly in combination with strawberries.

As there was rhubarb in my last week’s eco-box (comparable to CSA)  and additionally, rhubarb was on sale at our grocery store last week (50% off, I just couldn’t resist), I had lots of rhubarb that needed to be put to good use. But I thought there had to be other delicious things on earth containing rhubarb than just jam. So I came up with the idea to combine the sourness of the rhubarb with the sweetness of a muffin. And it REALLY was a good idea! This combination is just perfect and makes a fluffy and moist muffin. The muffins didn’t rise as much as I had expected (I might add more baking powder next time), but they were still tasty.

Without further ado, here’s the recipe (makes 20 muffins):

  • 500 g (17,6 oz) trimmed rhubarb; approximately 700 g (24,7 oz) untrimmed
  • 3 tblsp sugar
  • 170 g (1,5 sticks) butter
  • 150 g (0,6 cups) sugar
  • 3 teasp vanilla sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 200 g (1,6 cups) all-purpose flour
  • 1 teasp baking powder

Cut rhubarb into half-inch chunks, put in a bowl and mix with 3 tblsp sugar. Let stand for about 1-2 hours.

Combine butter, sugar and vanilla sugar. Add eggs. Add flour and baking powder and stir well. Add rhubarb (with the juice).

Ready to go in the oven.

Ready to go in the oven.

Line or grease muffin tins and fill each cup with 2 tblsp of the batter. Bake at 180°C (350°F) for 25-30 minutes till the muffins are lightly golden.

Looks quite done...

Looks quite done...

5 responses to “Rhubarb Season (1) – Rhubarb Muffins

  1. yum, I love rhubarb. My favorite growing up is rhubarb crisp: can you get brown sugar in Germany?

    • Yes, we have brown sugar here. Do you have a good recipe? I was intending to make the Rhubarb Grunt I found on “Chocolate & Zucchini”. That sure sounds yummy, too!!! But let me know your recipe, too, please ;o).

  2. Pingback: Rhubarb Season (2) – Rhubarb Vanilla Jam « Family & Food

  3. Rhubard Grunt!! I have made apple grunt? My mom years ago made this for dessert when we came home for lunch – WOW – I loved her recipe – her biscuits were fabulous – she used warm milk flavored with vanilla and cinnamon I believe. I love rhubarb and intend to make this version of “grunt” and your coffee cake – can’t wait to get my hands on fresh rhubarb!! Nobody in Baltimore seems to know what “grunt” is – foodwise that is!! I’d love to try your jam!! maybe!!! I have just found you all and will be visiting now and then – am staying with my daughter right now – thus difference in my email – just had baby a week ago – am helping out for a while – darling little girl – Bethany Lynne – so perfectly formed and “lots” of hair!! Until then—Helen

  4. Pingback: Can Jam #5: “Rhubarb” & “Asparagus”– Jam, Cordial, BBQ Sauce & Pickled Asparagus « Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

