Birthday Cakes Part 3: Flower Cake

Flower Cake

For her 6th birthday my older daughter was asking me for a chocolate cake with M&M’s. As I’ve written in my previous post, my kids love our traditional devil’s cake. So I just took my basic recipe and multiplied it by 1.5 to adapt it for a spring form (instead of a loaf pan). Here’s the adapted version:

  • 375 g (3,3 sticks) butter
  • 375 g (1,5 cups) sugar
  • 450 g (3,6 cups) all-purpose flour
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 3 egg whites
  • 6 tbl.sp cocoa powder
  • 300 ml (1,27 cups) sour cream
  • 1,5 teasp baking soda
  • powdered sugar and some water
  • M&M’s

Melt the butter. Stir sugar, egg whites, egg yolks and melted butter. Add flour, cocoa and baking soda and stir well. Add sour cream and stir well. Pour the dough in a spring form and bake about 40 minutes at 200°C (400°F). Insert a toothpick into the center of the cake: if it comes out clean the cake is ready. Let the cake cool off for about half an hour. Combine the powdered sugar with a tiny bit of water so you get a thick paste and brush the icing on the cake. Immediately decorate with M&M’s so they will stick.

For decoration purpose, I added a sparkler and lit it up when my daughter entered the room on her birthday morning.

Flower Cake with Sparkler

4 responses to “Birthday Cakes Part 3: Flower Cake

  1. Wow! PS you have already leaped ahead of me on using wordpress. We still need to come up with our own banner up top. I like the new theme. Is it OK if I use it too? Just like they say using white plates is best for showcasing food…

    • Sure you can use the same theme. The one I had before was kind of like an interim solution that was ok but didn’t really convince me. The banner up top is still an interim solution till I have a better one. But the size is kinda weird, so it’s a little difficult to find something. Anyway, still trying to figure out how this whole wordpress thing works. Do you know how to make the first page show only the first couple lines of the post???? Do you know what I mean?

  2. bowmansinbavaria

    I love the sparkler on your daughter’s cake! That’s a wonderful idea. Thank you also for the Devil’s food cake recipe. I am going to copy that one down and add it to my recipe file.

  3. Pingback: Birthday Cakes Part 7: Monkey and Vegan Butterfly « Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

