Bake! – Kyra’s Hot Milk Sponge Cake

The 11th recipe I made from Nick Malgieri’s “Bake!” was Kyra’s Hot Milk Sponge Cake. I know, this recipe hasn’t been on the official lineup yet, but let me explain what happened.

The scary E.coli outbreak here in Germany made me eliminate virtual ALL raw fruit and vegetables from our menu for like 3 weeks or so. Means, no strawberries, even though it’s strawberry season here :-(, no tomatoes, no cucumbers, no salad, no peppers, no …, you get the point. We did have washed  (my hands were beet-red from the hot water) and peeled apples and bananas, though. Anyway, my youngest daughter’s birthday was coming up and her biggest wish was to have a strawberry cake. I was paranoid about the E.coli, so I was looking for recipes where the strawberries would be baked, and finally settled on a strawberry muffin recipe. Then, 3 days ago, sprouts were the only suspects left, but I still was paranoid and got all the ingredients for the muffins. After having a chat with Ulrike and Marthe who totally regretted my kids because of me being so paranoid and not giving them raw strawberries even though they’ve never been suspected to carry the E.coli bacteria, I decided to fight my paranoia and make a real strawberry cake. Of course, it was Saturday night, and with all the stores closed here on Sundays, there was no chance I could get all the ingredients for the Bake! Strawberry Cream Cheese Crumble Tart. Thus, I was searching through the book and realized I had everything on hand for Kyra’s Hot Milk Sponge Cake. To make a long story short: I made a half recipe to get one layer, topped it with vanilla pastry cream and placed raw strawberries on top.  Easy-peasy. And yummy. My daughter was happy. So was I. I do have to admit, though, that I’m very alert now to ANY signals our bodies send us.

5 responses to “Bake! – Kyra’s Hot Milk Sponge Cake

  1. Wish I had caked like this when I was younger… Jealous…

  2. That looks awesome! And I’m glad that you finally were able to enjoy fresh strawberries. (Can totally relate to the worry/sensitivity about food sicknesses, though!)

  3. This looks beautiful. I am getting ready to figure out next rotation in Bake! and I cannot find your email address, can you email me with that so I can send out a copy to you? Where have you been???? Miss you. — Kayte

  4. Looks awesome. What a coincidence I made Hot milk cake yesterday and yet to post. They taste great isnt it?:)

Leave a Reply

