Bake! – Best & Easiest Carrot Cake

The 9th recipe I made from Nick Malgieri’s “Bake!” was the Best & Easiest Carrot Cake. Phyl picked this recipe, you can find his take on this cake here. I am still not sure what to think about this cake: yes, it was very easy, but is it the best carrot cake? I can’t really compare because I haven’t had much carrot cake yet, and the little I had I can’t remember to compare. The recipe for the cream cheese frosting is a little off, it does taste wonderful, but is way too runny and does not look like in the book at all. Phyl noticed the same thing. Less cream cheese? More confectioners’ sugar? I don’t know why it was so runny… I followed the recipe to the T. As I said, the frosting was yummy. The cake was weird. Maybe it was the combination of lots of cinnamon and carrots which already SOUNDS weird to me? My family loved it, though.

Others who have made this cake: Kayte & Abby.

5 responses to “Bake! – Best & Easiest Carrot Cake

  1. Carrot cake is my favorite cake, so I’ll give this recipe a whirl (haven’t found a recipe that’s perfect yet), but I may use my standard cream cheese frosting recipe!

    Your picture is making me hungry…

  2. Yes, the frosting was too runny. But that’s easily remedied next time with a little more confectioner’s sugar. I liked the taste of the cake. Definitely one on my make again list.

  3. I didn’t have the runny frosting problem, but I scaled back the recipe, and I’m wondering if that made a difference. Carrot cake does *sound* weird, I’ll admit…I love it though! =)

  4. This one is still on my list. Thanks for info on frosting.

  5. Looks good from here. Re runny frosting: sometimes water content in cream cheese is more in one brand than another so I always adjust the confectioner’s sugar to account for that if it seems runny. That said, I kind of like that look of a runny frosting melting into the cake bites…looks and sounds good to me!

Leave a Reply

