Twitter Chef Avatar Fun – February: James Beard’s Macaroni and Cheese

My kids have a new favorite meal – Macaroni and Cheese. You might wonder how these poor kids have survived without Mac & Cheese until now – well, this is not a common meal in Germany. Of course I’ve heard about it, and during my study abroad year in the US looooong ago I had quite a few packages of Kraft Mac & Cheese (White Cheddar, yay!), but I’ve never made it from scratch. So this month, when I was browsing through several of James Beard’s recipes who is this month’s chef for the Twitter Chef Avatar Fun I noticed there was a Mac & Cheese recipe and thought it would be a great idea to finally make real American macaroni and cheese from scratch. If I had known my kids would love it as much as they did, I’d probably have looked for a recipe much earlier. And yes, I made it with white cheddar to commemorate my stay in the US ;-). This is a keeper!!!

Macaroni and Cheese

(adapted from James Beard)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 pound macaroni (I used 10,5 oz instead of 8 oz)
  • 3 T butter
  • 3 T flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/2 t dry mustard (I have no idea what DRY mustard is so I omitted it)
  • dash of Tabasco (I never use Tabasco and didn’t want to buy it for this dish only so I omitted it)
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I used 5,3 oz white cheddar which was 1 really packed cup)
  • buttered bread crumbs

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Boil the macaroni in salted water till just tender. Drain well.
  3. To prepare a white sauce, melt the butter in a heavy saucepan, blend with the flour, and cook several minutes over medium heat. Heat the milk to the boiling point (I omitted this point and just added the cold milk to the roux), stir into the flour-butter mixture, and continue stirring till it thickens. Add the seasonings and simmer 4 to 5 minutes.
  4. Butter a baking dish or casserole. In it arrange alternate layers of macaroni, sauce, and cheese, ending with cheese. Cover the top with buttered crumbs. Bake for 25 minutes (I baked it for 32 minutes), or until the top is nicely browned and the sauce is bubbly.

Yield: 6 servings (hmm, here it yielded 5 servings, even with the bigger amount of macaroni).

9 responses to “Twitter Chef Avatar Fun – February: James Beard’s Macaroni and Cheese

  1. Wow that looks so great. I am definitely putting this on my MacNCheese to do list. Beautiful shot of it. I need to go make breakfast, wish this was it! btw, Dry Mustard is like Coleman’s Dry Mustard, a tin of powder that you would find in the spice section of your market. I am sure you have something like that there. I use it a lot to give an extra little something to savory recipes, it’s delicious!

  2. Looks wonderful, Andrea! Will have to try this version…Mac & cheese is one of my kiddos’ most requested meals! =)

  3. Looks great, Andrea! My kids would love it, too, I’m sure. Dry mustard, or mustard powder, it just finely ground yellow mustard seeds. It’s often used in US recipes as a flavoring. Chili and BBQ recipes almost always call for it. You could make it by gettin some yellow mustard seeds and pulverizing them in a coffee grinder.

  4. Love, love, love Mac & Cheese!! Both homemade and Kraft! heheheh

  5. Ooh that looks just the thing for a cold evening – What a glorious photo!
    I must conquer my memories of the school mac and cheese we had, and re invent it following your recipe. In England dry mustard powder comes in a little yellow tin, Colmans English mustard, very traditional. Used also to make piccallilli!

  6. I have been buying extra cheddar every week with the intent to make this..we just end up eating the cheddar (my husband loves grilled cheese). Thanks for the reminder! Of course your kids loved it–mac ‘n cheese is a classic!

  7. Mmm. Okay, now mac & cheese is going on the menu for next week… =)

  8. Pingback: Abby’s Cheese Hoppers by Emeril Lagasse | Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

