The Daring Cooks’ Challenges 09/10: Food Preservation & Can Jam #9: Stone Fruits

The September 2010 Daring Cooks’ challenge was hosted by John of Eat4Fun. John chose to challenge The Daring Cooks to learn about food preservation, mainly in the form of canning and freezing. He challenged everyone to make a recipe and preserve it. John’s source for food preservation information was from The National Center for Home Food Preservation.

This month’s focus of Tigress’ Can Jam was selected by Kate of Hip Girl’s Guide to Homemaking – she chose stone fruits.

So why not combine these two challenges?

I wanted to make some really fancy recipes. But then I wasn’t sure we would like them at all. So I decided to go for two of my standard jam recipes – peach jam and apricot jam. Both jams are really fruity (due to the fact that I always add a lot less sugar than canning recipes imply) and delicious.

The recipe below is my basic recipe: just think peaches or apricots when you read fruit ;-).

Fruit (Peach or Apricot) Jam

Ingredients:

  • 3 lb fruit, pitted and quartered (NOT peeled)
  • 1 lb sugar
  • 1 tsp citric acid
  • 2 tblsp bottled lime juice
  • 2 tsp locust bean gum, diluted in 1/2 cup water

Directions:

  1. Mix fruit, sugar, citric acid and lime juice, cover and let stand for about 4 hours.
  2. Prepare canning equipment.
  3. Purée fruit mixture with an immersion blender.
  4. Bring to a boil, add diluted locust bean gum and let boil on high for about 3 minutes.
  5. Pour jam into prepared jars, close jars and process for 10 minutes in a boiling water bath.
8 responses to “The Daring Cooks’ Challenges 09/10: Food Preservation & Can Jam #9: Stone Fruits

  1. They both look yummy! Must try your jam recipe now that I’ve braved canning. =)

  2. Yum – I love peaches and apricots, and can only imagine how tasty and fresh your jams are. How fun that you could combine the two challenges, too! Really great job.

  3. This looks fantastic! I’m sad that the nice peaches are finished here now.

  4. Peaches look beautiful!! Amazing how basic simple recipes are also tons of fun and yield great results.

  5. Peaches and apricots are not always available here, so canning them is a great idea. Thanks for sharing your recipe :)

  6. Lovely! I’m so impressed by your bravery. Adjusting sugar levels is one of many things that various canning gurus have me petrified over. How will I know if it’s enough sugar to make the pectin gel? What if too little sugar makes it too acidic and somehow all the botulisms survive in there? OH MY GOD I’M GOING TO KILL SOMEBODY.

    That’s me about canning. So. Way to be courageous.

    • The amount of sugar does NOT influence the acidity of the jam (flavorwise, yes, but not pH-level wise). Also, the botulism thingies survive in things that are NOT acidic enough. Thus, you want things to be acidic! I usually have a sugar-fruit ratio of 1:3, with sweeter fruit (strawberries, blueberries…) usually 1:4 or 1:5, because I don’t want to eat that much sugar and also I prefer the fruit to dominate instead of the sugar.

      To make sure that the jam sets, I always use agar-agar or locust bean gum which have been diluted in water. This, I add to the boiling fruit-sugar mixture.

  7. I just made some……your looks beautiful!

Leave a Reply

