BBD #32: Italian Breads – Roundup

Wow, what a successful event this has been. I’m overwhelmed by 34 35 entries for this month’s Bread Baking Day with the theme Italian Breads. There were quite a few breads I have never heard of before, and every single entry was mouthwatering. It will take me a LONG time to make all those wonderful recipes. I want to thank everybody for baking with me for this month’s BBD. Adriana of Baking Powders is going to be the host of next month’s Bread Baking Day – make sure to check out her blog on August 6 to see which theme she chose! So, now let’s have a look at all the wonderful Italian breads.

Focaccia

4 people tried their hand at making focaccia. Focaccia is a Ligurian flatbread which is usually topped with herbs. Characteristic of focaccia is the dotting of the unbaked dough with your fingertips to create multiple wells, and the olive oil that is spread over the dough to preserve moisture.

1. My fellow Daring Baker and Daring Cook Audax Artifex from Sydney (Australia) made a banquet focaccia. Audax is known to feed hordes of people, so this recipe with hot spicy Italian sausage, stuffed olives and rosemary was perfect.

2. Palmira of Come con migo from Barcelona (Spain) made a sourdough focaccia stuffed with dried tomatoes and oregano. I LOVE dried tomatoes! And sourdough? Wow – I have never tried using sourdough for making focaccia.

3. Adriana of Baking Powders from Boston (USA), our host of BBD #33, baked a rosemary whole-wheat focaccia and tells an interesting story about her family name. Thanks for sharing…

4. Vanessa of Sweet Artichoke from Switzerland fired her oven to make focaccine which are mini focacce. She topped them with cherry tomatoes, olives, parmesan cheese and Italian herbs. Yum! And so cute!

Ciabatta

I’d say ciabatta is THE Italian bread. This is the bread people associate with Italy. Do you agree? A typical ciabatta has a crisp crust and a very open crumb. I’ve tried making ciabatta 3 times so far, but haven’t been successful yet at achieving those big, irregular holes. Maybe I’ll succeed with one of the following recipes?

5. Fellow Mellow Baker Lutz from Freiberg (Germany): look at this awesome crumb!

6. Tartasacher of Mil Postres from Spain: another Ciabatta post. Seems like chapata is the Spanish word for ciabatta – interesting!

7. My fellow BBA Challenge, Mellow and Modern Baker Abby of Stir it! Scrape it! Mix it! Bake it! from Minnesota (USA) had been home for 3 hours after over two weeks away and already had ciabatta dough rising. She might want to consider attending a bakeaholics anonymous meeting ;o)… Anyway, the ciabatta looks awesome!

8. Umm Mymoonah of Taste of Pearl City from Germany gives us some interesting information about ciabatta in her post and presents some beautiful loaves.

Pizza

Did you know that in Italy there was a bill before Parliament to safeguard the traditional Italian pizza, specifying permissible ingredients and methods of processing? Only pizzas which followed these guidelines could be called “traditional Italian pizzas” in Italy. And the Italian plural of pizza is pizze – who knew?

9. Elle of Feeding my Enthusiasms from California (USA) made a grilled pizza. I was so jealous reading her post because our grill doesn’t have a cover. Maybe when it’s broken I can talk the hubby into buying a grill with a cover ;o). Check out her post – those pizze must have tasted extremely good.

10. Mimi of Bakingfix from New York (USA) used her bread machine to make pizza dough for a classic Italian pizza. YUM!

11. Zaira of La Cocina de Zaira from Spain baked a tomatoes and two mozzarellas pizza. Classic and really scrumptious, I suppose.

Panettone

Panettone is a typical bread of Milan, usually prepared and enjoyed for Christmas. Thus, I wasn’t really expecting anybody would make panettone in the midst of summer. But there were two brave people who tried their hand at this festive bread packed with fruit. Kudos to you!

12. This is Mimi‘s second entry for the BBD. This time she didn’t only use the bread machine for making the dough, but even baked her panettone in the machine. What an interesting approach – I never would have come up with this idea. So, if you don’t have time, but want to make panettone, try her recipe. I’ll definitely give it a try.

13. Margaret of Tea and Scones from Louisiana (USA), on the other hand, needed 6 (yes, SIX) days to make her panettone. Seed culture, barm and baking. That’s impressive!

Tuscan Bread

The defining characteristic of Tuscan bread is the lack of salt. Bread without salt? Sounds weird, doesn’t it? When I made it, I thought it was kind of sweet, and I liked it when it was still warm from the oven. Cooled, not so much :-(.

14. Susan of Wild Yeast from California (USA) has made Tuscan bread before and was pleasantly surprised by its sweet flavor. This time she made a 70% whole-wheat version which she thought wasn’t quite as good as Peter Reinhart’s  version from the BBA. It looks good, though!

15. Cathy of The Bread Experience from Georgia (USA) also has made Reinhart’s Tuscan bread before and really liked it. So she made a KAF (aka King Arthur Flour) Tuscan bread recipe this time, baked it in her La Cloche and used it for bruschetta which she thought gave it a boost in flavor. What a great idea!

Grissini

Grissini are bread sticks originating in Turin. They are originally thought to have been created in the 14th century. Thus, of course, this month’s BBD wouldn’t be complete without them!

16. Sangeetha of Sangi’s Food World from California (USA) made twisted grissini with sesame seeds, pepper and Italian seasoning. Can I have some, please?

17. Reshmi of Lecker and yummy recipes from Germany made grissini with poppy seeds and sesame seeds. The inside shot looks great!

Pugliese

Puglia, or Apulia as it is called in English, is home to the Pugliese bread. Big holes and nutlike flavor are characteristic of this bread.

18. Stefanie of Hefe und mehr from Germany used durum flour to make her Pane Pugliese. She wasn’t quite satisfied with the result, though, because the crumb was rather dense.

19. Jayasri of Samayal Arai from India (?) added sweet potatoes to her Pugliese bread. Sounds really interesting!

Semolina Bread

Semolina is a typical Italian ingredient. Did you know that the term semolina derives from the Italian word “semola” that derives from the ancient Latin simila, meaning “flour”? In German, it is called “Grieß” and I assume there is NO kid in Germany that doesn’t know “Grießbrei” (comparable to cream of wheat). I am still hooked on it even though I’m definitely not a kid anymore and even have 3 kids of my own (who all love “Grießbrei”, too).

20. Astrid of Paulchens Foodblog from Vienna (Austria) made a semolina sandwich loaf that reminded her of her summer vacation in Italy.

21. Swathi of Zesty South Indian Kitchen from Texas (USA) chose a recipe by Jeffrey Hamelman  for her semolina bread (which will eventually be baked by me as part of the Mellow Baker Challenge). It looks really fluffy and oh so yummy!!!

Tomato Bread

Tomato is coming into season soon, so why not harvest some tomatoes, dry them and make some delicious tomato bread?

22. Veena of Veg Junction from Chennai (India) baked a delicious tomato basil loaf. The picture makes my mouth water so I want to go to the kitchen right away and make this bread!

23. Tanna of My Kitchen in Half Cups from Texas (USA) has a new favorite bread: pane al pomodoro. The recipe sounds like this could become one of my favorite recipes, too!

Miscellaneous

Miscellaneous doesn’t mean to say these are unimportant breads. NOT AT ALL! I just stuck every entry into this category that wouldn’t make a category with at least one of the other breads. In this category, there are many breads, I have never heard of and which I am really curious about. I also want to say that I intended to conclude this roundup with my entry (to be polite), but for some unknown reason I missed two entries while editing the pictures (which took me FOREVER) and had to add them later on.

24. Akheela of Torview from Toronto (Canada) made an good looking Italian rustic loaf.

25. My fellow Mellow Baker Lien of Notitie van Lien from the Netherlands baked Schiacciatine. No idea what that is? I didn’t know either before I read her post. It is a cracker-like bread, brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with coarse seasalt. Sounds very scrumptious to me!

26. Nicole of Bread, butter and buns from Idaho (USA) hasn’t baked bread for a while due to the brutal heat in Idaho. So glad you’re back. The ciriole (a typical roll for Rome) look awesome!

27. My fellow cheese maker Heather of Girlichef from Indiana (USA) made stromboli, a “bread stuffed and erupting with deliciousness”. From what I see from the pictures, she is absolutely right.

28. Fellow Mellow Baker Di of Di’s Kitchen Notebook from Texas (USA) baked a beautiful S-shaped Pane Siciliano and tells us a little bit about her family. Thanks for sharing!

29. Fellow cheese maker and Mellow Baker Natashya of Living in the Kitchen with Puppies from Canada made an interesting crocodile bread – the Coccodrillo.

30. Glenda of Domesticated Engineer from Kansas (USA) baked Panini Dolci alla Cannella e Mandorla. Can you imagine that this beautiful name just means: sweet rolls with cinnamon and almonds? Italian is a beautiful language, isn’t it?

31. Judy of Judy’s gross eats from California (USA) made Pane di Dieci Cereali which means 10-Grain-Cereal Bread. It is topped with oats. For me, as an oats addict, it looks awesome!

32. Andrea (that’s me) of Family & Food from Germany made cornetti. These are olive oil rolls from Bologna. I wasn’t really happy with the result, though.

33. Cindy of Cindystar from Lake Garda (Italy) brought us Italian doughnuts, also called bomboloni, frati or zeppole. Check out her post – the pictures are amazing and make me want to book a flight to Italy to get some bombolone :-).

34. And last, but not least: Zorra of 1x umrühren bitte, founder of BBD, made Brioscia siciliana alla mandorle – Sicilian almond brioche with a quince jelly glaze. Ah, I’m so jealous – I love quince jelly, but my quince tree doesn’t have ANY fruit this year *sigh*.

Just after I had posted the roundup I received an e-mail with another entry.

35. Sweatha of Tasty Curry Leaf from Bangalore (India) also made a saltless Tuscan bread and served it with soup.

I once more want to thank everybody for participating. I had so much fun reading all the entries and look forward to trying all the recipes.

28 responses to “BBD #32: Italian Breads – Roundup

  1. Waow, this is an awesome roundup! All these breads look delicious! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Thank you so much for hosting the #32 BBA I love the entries but the one that caught my eye was the ciabatta by Mellow Baker Lutz that crumb is amazing but the rest were only a short way back. Lovely results on this challenge. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

  3. thank you so much for hosting this event, lovely round up

  4. Wonderful roundup. Thank you and all the participants.

    By the way my quince trees have many many fruits. Perhaps I can send you some. ;-)

  5. Great round-up, you did a fabulous job!
    Wonderful breads, very inspiring. Makes me want to go to Italy..

  6. Wow! Awesome collection of Italian Breads, just can’t wiat to try these one by one.

  7. Awesome roundup, Andrea! So many breads to add to the list! “Uh, hi bakeaholics anonymous, my name is Abby.” =)

  8. Wow, what a great collection of breads! And I love how you organized them all for this post. Lots of things I’m going to have to try… =)

  9. Such a great collection of breads and a great roundup. You did a wonderful job on the write-up! Thanks for hosting. Lot’s of new breads to try.

  10. lots of recipes to try from thank you for a wonderful roundup
    check out the events in my site
    http://torviewtoronto.blogspot.com

  11. Thanks for a great roundup of the Italian Breads. Now I have more I want to try.

  12. Wow, good round-up. Can’t wait to try some new recipes. Am so happy to be back amongst the bread bakers!!!!

  13. Thank you for hosting this BBD!
    (one remark: I live in FreibErg, not in FreibUrg ;-)).

  14. Wow. Incredible post! So many gorgeous breads. Where do you get all the time to do all these amazing challenges? I’m so jealous! And hungry… :-)

  15. A beautiful and delicious roundup. Great recipes and wondefurl your work. Thank you

  16. Holy cow…Heaven! Seriously, give me a hunk of cheese, a bottle of wine and any of these fabulous loaves and I’m a happy girli!! Gorgeous, roundup, Andrea…seriously breathtaking array. Thanks for hosting this month :)

  17. Wonderful round up Andrea, I love to try all of them. You did a nice job putting together very nicely.

  18. Great roundup! so many lovely Italian Breads. Amazing!

  19. What a great post…such fun to see all the varieties and breads. I am amazed that me, the lowly just in my first year of bread baking gal that I am can actually name several of these that I have made and posted. Wow, who knew. Fun post!

  20. Applause Andrea for this wonderful round up. I love how you grouped them together. Thanks so much for hosting and the wonderful theme!!!

  21. Wonderful Round Up.Hearty Thanks for adding my bread thgh at the last minute.Thanks

  22. Andrea this is an exceptional round up. Love the way you organized it.
    I know it’s silly but it really warms my heart to see so many gorgeous loaves!

  23. Wonderful roundup of terrific breads. Thanks so much!

  24. great rond up, andrea!
    a very special tibute to Italy, I am very honored!
    thanks for hosting with such a super theme and thanks to all participants, you made me feel a little closer to everyone!
    happy baking for ever!

  25. Hi, thanks for hosting!, and a wonderful round-up, makes me wonder what I want to bake!, Of course, Audax foccasia is on my to do list and the ciabatta’s look gorgeous!, All the breads looks beautiful!, You have put a question mark next to my name I am from UK right now!, coming here brought me into this world of blogging and baking :)), thanks to all of you.., what a wonderful round-up and thanks for all the information on each bread, absolutely perfect…

  26. Pingback: bbd – breadbakingday | Sphere Culinaire

Leave a Reply

