The Modern Baker Challenge: Breads – Elegant Dinner Rolls

I haven’t been really happy with the results of my 2 official breads (Cornetti & Turkish Flatbread) in the Modern Baker Challenge, so I was hoping that this recipe for elegant dinner rolls would be a success. And yes, it was!

This is another recipe that uses the food processor. I have a tiny 2-cup food processor, and I’m really tired of mixing everything in batches, so I decided to use my kitchen machine for the rolls and just let it knead the dough as I would do for every other bread recipe. I have no idea why NM is using a food processor so excessively. Any ideas? Anyway, the kneading worked just fine, the dough doubled within 1 hour and then it was time to shape the rolls. I didn’t want to make plain rolls, but wanted them to be a little fancier. I opted for Frieda’s clover leaf rolls. To make these, you place three little dough balls in a muffin tin. NM says the recipe makes 12 individual rolls – I decided to make 18 clover leaf rolls. I had 26 oz of dough which I divided into 18 equal pieces. I then divided each piece into 3 equal portions  of 0,48 oz each, shaped tiny balls and placed them in the muffin tin. I let them rise for about 1 1/2 hours and baked them at 400°F for 20 minutes. The smell from the oven was awesome. So was the flavor – light and fluffy.  I served them with homemade cottage cheese. This is a recipe I’ll make again!

8 responses to “The Modern Baker Challenge: Breads – Elegant Dinner Rolls

  1. Finally, a winner! I was a bit discouraged after the first few recipes in the Breads section, too. But I’ve hit on a few that I like (pitas, seven grain & seed). Haven’t made the rolls yet, but I’m looking forward to it now!

  2. Oh, hurray! So glad there’s a good one ahead. The clover leaf rolls are adorable. =)

  3. Just starting with the group. Glad to know these rolls are good. they are first on my list.

  4. These are so pretty and you shape them so well…I think these are definitely a 10 in the looks department, so happy to hear that you rated them highly in the taste department as well. YUM.

  5. These look great! I agree about the food processor and mixer situation. I also only have a mini processor and have started using the mixer. I think I’ll have to try these!

  6. These look awesome! I’ll have to try these for when my inlaws visit next.

  7. Pingback: The Modern Baker Challenge: Breads – Instant Sandwich Bread « Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

