Forging Fromage (1) – Paneer

I’ve recently stumbled upon a website called “Forging Fromage – Adventures and progressions in home cheesemaking” which is hosted by Girlichef and fellow Mellow Baker Natashya. I’ve been having some time issues lately, but I thought I could just make some easy cheeses, and when I have more time, just continue with the more difficult ones. Thus, here’s my first cheese: Paneer.

The “Forging Fromage” people made this cheese in February. You can find the roundup here. I’ve never heard of Paneer before – it is a fresh cheese common in South Asian cuisine. This cheese was really easy to make. It reminded me a lot of making tofu. You just curdle heated milk with lemon juice or other food acid. My paneer is still in the fridge waiting to be used for a yummy dish – Simmered Kashmiri Paneer- I found here. I did try a little bit, and yes, it is bland – how could it not be? There is nothing added but lemon juice. But I really like it that way. This recipe is a keeper!

Paneer

(adapted from 200 Easy Homemade Cheese Recipes)

Ingredients:

  • 4 quarts whole milk (I used UHT – ultra heat treated homogenised – milk because that’s what I had on hand)
  • 4 tsp freshly squeezed lemon juice, approx.

Directions:

  1. Sterilize all equipment. In a large stainless-steel pot over low heat, slowly bring milk to a boil, stirring gently to prevent scorching. Remove from heat.
  2. Add lemon juice. Stir for 5 minutes or until milk begins to curdle and the solids rise to the top. If it does not curdle, add another 2 tbsp lemon juice and continue stirring.
  3. Pour contents of pot into a cloth-lined colander. Let curds drain. Rinse curds with cold running water, then twist them in the cloth to remove as much of the water as possible.
  4. Twist the cloth tightly around the cheese and place on a plate. Cover with another plate and place a 2-lb. (1 kg) weight on top. Place in the refrigerator overnight.
  5. Unwrap cheese and place in a small bowl. Cover and store in the refrigerator for up to 5 days.
Print

Add to TwitterAdd to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

8 responses to “Forging Fromage (1) – Paneer

  1. Beautiful!! And you’re right…a great starting point. I still love making the simpler, fresh cheeses. Instant gratification…ya know!? I’m so glad you’ve started forging with us and can’t wait to see your future endeavors. We’ll be sure to add your paneer to the next roundup!!

  2. I’m so impressed with all that you do, Andrea! Bread, cakes, canning, and now cheese . . . I’ll have to catch up at some point! This sounds great – can’t wait to hear how your meal turns out.

  3. Yay! So glad to have you as a fellow forger! And looking forward to seeing what you made with the paneer. Oh yum….

  4. Very nice, and glad to hear UHT worked, since we usually have some on hand. I had bookmarked the link to make paneer, but somehow never got around to it. Maybe I’ll follow you into the cheesemaking.

  5. Pingback: Forging Fromage (2) – Yogurt Cheese « Family & Food & Other Things

  6. Awesome! Great looking paneer – so happy to have you cheesing with us!

  7. Pingback: Forging Fromage (3) – Fresh Cottage Cheese « Family & Food & Other Things

  8. I’m the founder/moderator for Punk Domestics (www.punkdomestics.com), a community site for those of use obsessed with, er, interested in DIY food. It’s sort of like Tastespotting, but specific to the niche. I’d love for you to submit your gorgeous paneer to the site. I think cheese making is going to be the next big trend. Good stuff!

Leave a Reply

