Can Jam #6: “Berries”– A Trilogy

This month’s focus of Tigress’ Can Jam which was announced by Joel and Dana of Well Preserved is berries.  I was confused first because they wrote everything that ended in “berries” would qualify (like, strawberries, gooseberries, blueberries) – and there are quite a few more berries, that don’t end in “berries” but ARE berries (like redcurrants, black currants, sea buckthorn). But they clarified it and said ALL botanical berries would be fine.

Rhubarb, Blueberry + Lime Jam

My first attempt was a rhubarb, blueberry + lime jam. This is another one of our fellow can jammer Gloria’s recipes of “The Laundry”. I cut down the sugar by half and added 1 teaspoon of locust bean gum so the jam would set, but other than that used the proportions she tweeted to me, which are:

  • 325 g (11,5 oz) rhubarb
  • 225 g (8 oz) blueberries (I used blueberries I had canned last summer)
  • 1 lime (zest + juice)
  • 385 g  (13,5 oz) sugar

This jam has a very interesting flavor, even though I found the rhubarb too dominant. I would add more blueberries next time.

Strawberry Rhubarb Jam

My second attempt was a very classic strawberry rhubarb jam:

  • 2 lb strawberries
  • 1 lb rhubarb
  • 26 oz sugar

Of course, you can’t go wrong with this combination, no? So, this was absolutely delicious!

Sea-Buckthorn Jam

I have very lovely sea-buckthorn shrubs in my backyard. It is also referred to as sandthorn (which would be the literal translation of the German name “Sanddorn”) or as seaberry. The female plant produces awesome orange berries which have an extremely high vitamin C content. They are very sour, though, and can’t be eaten raw. Anyway, I had lots and lots of these berries last fall and made like 50 jars of jam. When I ran out of jars I used the remaining berries to make sandthorn juice to be used later for making jam again. So, this is exactly what I did. I got some sandthorn juice from last fall from the garage (where I store all my jams and other canned goods), diluted it with some water, added quite a bit of sugar and 1 teaspoon of locust bean gum:

  • 1 pint sea-buckthorn juice
  • 1/2 pint water
  • 1 lb sugar
  • 1 tsp locust bean gum

This jam is incredible!!!!! If you get your hands on some sea-buckthorn you really should try it. Of all the jams I’ve made so far in my life this is by far my most favorite one! YUM!

8 responses to “Can Jam #6: “Berries”– A Trilogy

  1. They all look delicioso!

  2. The sea buckthorn makes a fabulous coloured jam. I love it when someone introduces a berry I’ve never heard of and it then becomes a quest to find some and know what they taste like. Also the locust bean gum is really interesting. I’ll be emailing you soon about the details!

    • If you ever come to Germany and visit some place at the Baltic Sea, you’ll see a lot of sea-buckthorn and sea-buckthorn products. I’ve never liked the commercial sea-buckthorn products, though, and only started LOVING it last year when I made my own jam. Actually, I had planted the shrubs for the birds because the berries are perfect winter food for them and it’s nice to have some bright color in the backyard when everything else is grey.

  3. Really intriguing! I’ve never heard of sea-buckthorn, but now I must find some. Or something made with it – the color’s incredible!

    I spread my 3 over this whole past week. Just couldn’t edit myself. :-)

  4. Can I place an order for next summer ;-)? I’ve never heard of this fruit, let alone this plant!

  5. I’ve eaten a seaberry compote, made with berries purchased at our farmer’s market, but never jam. I can vouch for the flavor. And that color, wow!

Leave a Reply

