Mellow Bakers May 2010: (1) Grissini

It’s been quite a while since my last post for the Mellow Bakers. It’s almost the middle of May, three breads have been picked (Corn Bread, Miche Pointe-à-Callière & Grissini), and it’s time that I get my act together and bake one of these breads. I picked Grissini which you find the recipe for on page 256 in Hamelman’s book “Bread” (or online here) – the book the Mellow Bakers strive to bake their way through at a relaxed pace.

I mixed bread flour, water, olive oil (a gigantic amount – 5 tablespoons), butter, salt, and yeast (I remembered some yeast clarification in the forum but didn’t have the time to go online, so I stuck with the 1/2 tsp called for in my book). I also added about 2,5 oz of grated Parmesan cheese to the dough at that point because I absolutely had fallen in love with the Parmesan Pepper Biscuits I had recently made for the Modern Baker Challenge – Hamelman says to add about 1,8 ounces, but I thought a little more wouldn’t hurt and 2,5 ounces were exactly the amount I had left from the aforementioned Parmesan Pepper Biscuits.

I let everything rise for about 2 hours. Sorry, Mr. Hamelman, but 1 hour of bulk fermentation was absolutely NOT possible for me. I had come home from work, and had exactly 30 minutes for mixing the dough, packing my kiddos’ sports apparel, picking up the kids from daycare and rushing to their sports club. When we came home, 2 hours had passed, but there was no yeasty monster in the kitchen, so I think the dough was kind of forgiving.

I divided the dough into 24 portions of more or less 1,35 oz each, let them rest for about 10 minutes, and rolled and stretched them out to about 14 inches long. I transferred the sticks to a baking sheet, put them in the preheated oven (Does Hamelman say anything about preheating the oven anywhere in the book? I really miss Peter Reinhart’s clear instructions!), and baked them at 380°F for 20 minutes, until they were golden brown.

Hamelman says you can store them in an airtight container for up to 5 days. WHAT? These aren’t going to last 5 days!!!! These are extremely yummy, cheesy breadsticks (and even more cheese wouldn’t hurt at all!). The kids loved them and asked for more, the hubby loved them, I loved them… OK, a little less than half is left, but that will definitely be eaten tomorrow.

Other Mellow Bakers who have baked Grissini

11 responses to “Mellow Bakers May 2010: (1) Grissini

  1. I love these. They would not last five days either…not with my husband around…LOL

  2. These look very fantastic. I am unofficially going to bake with the Mellow Bakers. I did Hot Cross Buns and then didn’t do any in April, but I got the book for Mother’s Day yesterday, so today I am making, as we speak, and it is in the oven, the Corn Bread for May. Funny you should mention PR…I miss his preciseness as well…and I think I would feel very lost if I had not done so much in his book already. Wish me luck…your little breadsticks are just wonderful.

  3. You have convinced me. I am going to make these again with Parmesan – last time I switched to Asiago for more flavor.

    I am also going to switch to the skinnier stick. Skinnier = more crust = more love. ;)

    I completely agree about the amount of yeast, but I usually believe that yeast is one measurement with a little wiggle room.

    Plus, you got yours such a lovely shade of brown; they have to be good. They sure look great.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Mellow Bakers May 2010: (1) Grissini « Family & Food & Other Things -- Topsy.com

  5. They look great! I’m so glad you all loved them! I think we might have liked them more if I’d put either the cheese or garlic (or both) right into the dough, too.

  6. Amazing photo!

  7. Mmm, those look great. I’m looking forward to making this one.

  8. MMMM,…your grissini do look so lovely!! tasty too!

  9. Yes they were good weren’t they…. we ate them all but 3 (those went down the next day). The errata list Pauls had given on Mellow bakers, shows that the yeast amount is increased to 1 3/4 tsp. That would made a yeast monster maybe after 2 hours :)

  10. I always go with a thenth or twentieth part of the metric system. This time I baked just 12 bread sticks, which just fit on one baking sheet. They were good. I calculated 2,1 g dry yeast for 7,6 g fresh yeast and it was just right.

    And I always weigh my dry yeast ;-)

    Your grissini look beautiful

    • Yep, 24 sticks fit perfectly on 2 sheets! What do you use for weighing dry yeast? A spoon scale? This is on my wishlist, but until then I’ll just use my teaspoon measures ;o).

Leave a Reply

