The Modern Baker Challenge: Quick Breads – Pecorino Pepper Biscuits

Parmesan biscuits

The next bread on my Modern Baker Challenge line-up – Pecorino Pepper Biscuits. We are baking our way through Nick Malgieri’s “The Modern Baker”, not necessarily in the order that is given in the book. Check my sidebar to see which breads I’ve already made.

I love Pecorino, but it’s not a staple in my house. Parmesan is… And as Malgieri offers to substitute Parmigiano-Reggiano for the Pecorino Romano,  I opted for the Parmesan version.

The recipe says to combine the flours, baking powder, pepper (I decreased the pepper amount to 1/2 tsp as Malgieri suggests for the Parmesan version), and salt. Then you have to combine the grated cheese and butter in a food processor where you pulse it several times. To this you add the flour mixture and pulse again. Add some milk, and pulse some more. Problem: I don’t have a food processor.  So I was mixing and squishing everything with my hands. I mean, I’m pretty sure people already made biscuits like these before they had access to food processors, so using your hands can’t be totally wrong, no?

I then pressed the dough into a rectangle about 1/2 inch thick (I think it was less than that because I got a lot more than 12 biscuits – 19 to be exact) and used a 2 1/2 inch dessert ring to cut out the biscuits. Malgieri says to press straight down with the cutter – twisting it as you cut prevents the biscuits from having straight, even sides when baked. I arranged the biscuits on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and baked them in the preheated oven at 400°F for 20 minutes until they were nicely golden.

My verdict: YUM!!!! I will make these again very soon – the whole process is really quick and easy and the result is delicious. I might add a little bit more Parmesan next time…

Other bakers who tackled this bread

12 responses to “The Modern Baker Challenge: Quick Breads – Pecorino Pepper Biscuits

  1. Oohh, these are next on my list to make, as well! I will also use parm, and will take your advice and round up. =) They look delish!

  2. Beautiful biscuits! I want to go back and make these again when I finish the quick breads.

  3. Yum. I like these

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Modern Baker Challenge: Quick Breads – Pecorino Pepper Biscuits « Family & Food & Other Things -- Topsy.com

  5. You got them to rise so high and nice. I love the color on them also as so many times biscuits are just so white…I always like to see a little color and yours are beautiful. I can’t wait to make these here…I have this cheese just waiting to be used up soon!

  6. Beautiful biscuits!! You got a great rise too. Next time I’m using my hands and I’ll give the “press into a rectangle” another shot. I ended up breaking out my rolling pin.

  7. Pingback: Mellow Bakers May 2010: (1) Grissini « Family & Food & Other Things

  8. Nice biscuits, very impressing that you are doing them the old fashioned way. I know some people use pastry cutter to cut up the butter. I think the key is (just like with a shortcrust/Murbeteig) to keep the butter from getting to warm and melt.
    I too found that more cheese is in order next time around.

  9. Very yummy biscuits. I can never get my biscuits to rise as high as yours did. and I didn’t twist either. Very nice color as well.

    I was also going to squish mine together, but I have that small chopper attachment for my Braun hand blender, so I used that instead because I didn’t feel like it. But I feel that going back to traditional methods is always the best.

  10. These look great!!

  11. Pingback: Twitter Chef Avatar Fun – January: Thomas Keller’s Buttermilk Biscuits | Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

