The Modern Baker Challenge: Quick Breads – Real Welsh Scones

Next bread on my private line-up for the Modern Baker Challenge invented by Phyl – Real Welsh Scones. We are baking our way through the quick bread section of “The Modern Baker” by Nick Malgieri. Some bake the recipes in the order specified in the book, I don’t. I bake what fits into my schedule and what pleases my and my family’s tastebuds. And sometimes I just check the recipes to see which one I can make with the ingredients I have at hand.

This is another very easy recipe. Except for the fact that it calls for a food processor. I don’t have one and don’t plan on buying one, so I just kneaded the ingredients by hand. I had to add a lot more flour to reach a consistency that looked similar to the one in the book. But then it was easy-peasy. I patted the dough into a disk, marked it into 8 wedges with a knife and baked them for about 15 minutes until golden brown. Then I cut the disk completely along the markings into wedges.

These were awesome still warm from the oven, with a little butter and homemade mixed-berries jam for breakfast. I will definitely make them again!

Other bakers who tackled this bread

Astheroshe (the official blogger for this bread), Karen (the 2nd third of the Three Clever Sisters), Phyl, Petra

6 responses to “The Modern Baker Challenge: Quick Breads – Real Welsh Scones

  1. Looks great! I really want to make these, but I’m trying (not all that successfully so far) to bake things in order.

    • I made these, and they were all I had hoped for! And the ginger almond and butterscotch scones? Over the top delicious!

  2. scones are so confusing: the american version are a totally different animal from what i grew up with in south africa, which i guess are british style scones. but now the welsh kind are all different again! they do look delicious!

  3. They look wonderful…and that jam on them puts them over the top in my book. My those look yummy! I can’t wait to get to these!

  4. They look awesome! These are on my to-make-very-soon list (cocoa & banana muffins are tomorrow!). =)

  5. Yum! I can’t wait to try these! The pic with the jam smeared over the scones has me drooling.

Leave a Reply

