Mellow Bakers April 2010: (3) Rustic Bread + GIVEAWAY!

This is my 100th post. Yes, I can’t believe I have written so many posts already. In celebration of this occasion – here’s my first GIVEAWAY. One lucky winner will receive a German specialty – 3 bars of Milka chocolate which equals almost 11 oz of yummy chocolate. There are different flavors the winner can pick from. To enter the giveaway, just leave a comment below. The winner will be selected from a random drawing. The giveaway closes on  Friday, April 30, 12 pm EST. The winner will be announced on May 1st. Btw, this giveaway is NOT limited to a certain country – everybody is welcome to participate!

Now on to my post. My third bread for the Mellow Bakers this month –Rustic Bread . You can find the recipe on page 115 in Hamelman’s book “Bread” – this is the book the Mellow Bakers strive to bake their way through at a relaxed pace.

This bread is made with a pre-ferment that rests for about 12-16 hours. Then bread flour, whole-rye flour, whole-wheat flour, water, salt, yeast and pre-ferment are mixed and kneaded. Fermentation for 2 1/2 hours wherein you fold it after 50 minutes and again 50 minutes later. That was kind of tricky because I had to pick up the kids from daycare, but everything worked out fine. Then the dough is preshaped into a round, and this time (after I’ve had so much trouble shaping the Light Rye Bread) I actually understood Hamelman’s instructions on preshaping and shaping! It took me a while, though, to figure out the drawings. I placed the shaped oval into a well-floured banneton (brotform), covered it with plastic and let it ferment for another 1 1/2 hours. When I inverted the risen loaf on the peel it started to spread pretty much, so I slashed it really quick and into the oven it went. Steaming, baking – finish. The loaf spread even more, so I was a little concerned. I guess, there was too much water in the dough. But the taste was amazing. We REALLY loved this bread. And I was surprised at the open crumb – there were many big holes, whereas others that baked this bread had a pretty tight crumb. But there were others with an open crumb, too. I’ll be definitely making this bread again! Maybe I add a little less water to see if it spreads less then…

Ok, so if you want to win some yummy Milka chocolate, don’t forget to leave a comment.

Other Mellow Bakers who have baked this bread:

28 responses to “Mellow Bakers April 2010: (3) Rustic Bread + GIVEAWAY!

  1. Well, here I am! Short comment. Short and sweet. Like a Milka Chocolate…. :-)

  2. Your bread looks just gorgeous!!! And I completely agree with you on two counts: the every-fifty-minute fold is tough when working around the kids’ schedules AND this bread is delicious enough to be made very frequently in the future! Great post! =)

  3. Congrats on your 100th post! Your bread looks awesome!

  4. this looks great congrats on your 100th

  5. Oh my I remember when you sent me milka chocolate 15 years ago (yes 15 years or so). Yum!!! It is so good.

    And congrats! So happy you started a blog!

    • This sounds like we are sooo old, doesn’t it? So, if anyone is wondering, Sara and I have been knowing each other since high school age ;o).

  6. Congratulations on the 100th post! Do you like using the banneton? I am thinking about buying one, but wasn’t sure they were worth the money.

  7. Congrats on your 100th post. I sure do love chocolate.

  8. I make this bread EVERY day! Thanks for the chance to win.

  9. Congrats on hitting the #100 milestone! Your bread looks wonderful. I’m working on this one right now; I can’t wait to see how it tastes.

  10. Congrats on 100 and wow, that bread looks spectacular. the crumb is ‘holey, webby’ perfection!

  11. oh any chocolate bread is great! mmmm

  12. Pingback: Globe Trotting Bake Off (4) – Denmark « Family & Food

  13. the bread looks good! please sign me up for giveaway

  14. Wow that looks beautiful!

  15. Congratulations on having a GREAT blog and your 100th post. Bread looks delicious. I tell my husband I will bake homemade bread when we retire, but I don’t think he wants to wait that long. My dad and my grandmother (his mom) both were excellent bread makers, so maybe I should quit worrying about my manicure and get busy!!!

  16. I love looking at pictures of your bread and I like chocolate so enter me!

  17. The texture of that bread looks amazing…

  18. Your bread posts are always such an inspiration. Between you and a few other bread baking bloggers I am definitely going to try my hand at the bread baking again soon!
    Congrats on the milestone: looking forward to the next 1o0 posts!

  19. Your loaves look beautiful! I actually did the folds at an hour and 10 minutes then an hour later to fit in with my schedule.

  20. Ah! I like Milka chocolate but it disppeared in HK already! I don’t know why!

    Anyway, congrats on the 100th post. My dough was spready too. Zeb said that maybe I’ve proven the dough too long in the first fermentation. Maybe she’s right as my kitchen was pretty hot and so I should not let the dough prove for 2.5 hours, but stop when it has good aeration. I am not sure if this would be helpful to you. ;-)

  21. mmmm, your bread looks yummy, even if it has rye. I’m having a hard time working the breads into my schedule this month. I just got back and will be leaving in a couple of weeks and I’m trying to stay away from zee carb monster… to bake or not to bake…

  22. The bread looks amazing! I’ve always strayed away from baking bread; I guess I should start taking that leap because your results look delicious! Congratulations on your 100th post!

  23. Pingback: The Daring Bakers’ Challenges 04/10: Cranberry & Orange Pudding « Family & Food

  24. Congratulations on your 100th post!!! Wonderful bread!
    (I’m not participating in the chocolaterace, just leaving a comment if that’s ok :))

  25. Congratulations on 100 posts!

    Your bread looks great. It’s been a while since I baked bread; maybe it’s time.

  26. Congrats on the 100th!! Great looking bread!!

Leave a Reply

