The Modern Baker Challenge: Quick Breads – Cocoa Banana Muffins

Another new challenge I’m participating in – The Modern Baker Challenge. Like the BBA Challenge, we are going to bake our way through an entire book: Nick Malgieri’s The Modern Baker. But unlike the BBA Challenge, fellow bakers can “claim” certain recipes and blog about them, and are then featured on the challenge website. This means, we don’t have to tackle all the recipes, but only the ones we like. But all 150 recipes will be baked by the group. My claim for the first section of the book (quick breads): cocoa banana muffins. I’ll also bake some other breads from this section, but this is my official submission for the challenge.

For this recipe, you have to make sure that you have very ripe bananas. As Nick Malgieri puts it:

“If the bananas are not ripe enough, these will taste no better than cocoa potato muffins.”

I hate ripe bananas, so we usually don’t have any at home. So I put 3 bananas on the counter to ripen for like 3 days. The day I wanted to bake the muffins, only 2 were left. Aaaahhhh… We have tons of bananas in the house, why did the hubby take the overripe one? He doesn’t even like them! Do I really have to put notes à la “Don’t eat me” on the things that I need for baking or cooking? I guess, it will become even worse once the kids are older and help themselves with snacks.

Anyway, this recipe was really easy-peasy. It’s a quick bread, after all. You mix flour, Dutch cocoa, baking soda, salt, bananas, sour cream, butter, sugar and eggs, and pour the batter into the muffin pans. According to the book, this recipe makes 16 muffins, but I made 18 (I have a 12- and a 6-cavity muffin tin) and still had some batter left.

On a side note: I really cherish my 6-cavity muffin tin. I brought this back from my study abroad year in upstate NY at a time where muffins were not really popular in Germany yet (OMG, was it really 11 years ago that I left the U.S.?). Thus, it was virtually impossible to get muffin tins here. Now, of course, you can buy them EVERYWHERE. But my American muffin tin is really special because it always reminds me of a wonderful year abroad.

To cut a long story short: these muffins are AMAZING and will be made often from now on. They are fluffy, moist, not too sweet and really chocolaty! The kids coudn’t stop eating them. Me neither ;-).

So, buy the book and join us. It’ll be fun!

Check out some fellow Modern Bakers’ posts on Cocoa Banana Muffins (this will be updated regularly):

11 responses to “The Modern Baker Challenge: Quick Breads – Cocoa Banana Muffins

  1. Those look great! These muffins are definitely worth having extra bananas around, even if you have to label them!

    Nice write up.

  2. Wow, they are wonderful!

    I like the idea of this ‘claim’ thing, somehow I missed this feature in the Modern Baker

    I don’t have the book, though, and we barely eat any sweet stuff, but… it’s kind of tempting to join :-)

    you are brave!

  3. Pingback: Banana Bread with Chocolate Chips « Family & Food

  4. Wow, these look great, am sure the family is going to love them when I get them baked. I laughed at having to label things…I have two teenage boys (and lots of their friends hanging around), so I always have to label it DON’T EAT, nail it down, or hide it. I made the dulce de leche for the cookies for TWD, it was cooling on the stovetop in a pie plate and they ATE it thinking it was butterscotch pudding for them before I figured out what they were doing. Luckily, it didn’t take long to make another batch. So, LOL on that missing banana!

  5. Ack! How did I miss commenting on this one?! Love this post . . . they sound delicious! I will definitely be trying them soon!

  6. Pingback: The Modern Baker Challenge: Quick Breads – Fennel Fig & Almond Bread « Family & Food

  7. I just baked them and ate one still a little warm. Yum, they are indeed so very good. Not as sweet as I expected with 1.5 c o sugar in the recipe. This was perfect since I really don’t like my baked good overly sweet. Nice balance of cocoa and banana. Your muffins look great!

  8. Pingback: The Modern Baker Challenge: Quick Breads – Blueberry Crumb Muffins « Family & Food

  9. I am totally with you on ripe banana smell! I only eat the young ones if I eat them, and I haven’t touched a banana since my first pregnancy. Yet, I thought these muffins were delicious! One tip if you do it again, make sure to mash the banana good (I didn’t). Those of us who don’t like ripe banana don’t take kindly the ripe banana chunks either.

  10. Okay, based on your endorsement, I am making these in the morning (or maybe tonight). Yours look so good!

  11. Pingback: The Modern Baker Challenge – Devil’s Food Cake | Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

