BBA Challenge #43: Sautéed Onion and Parmesan Miche

Ta-daa! I finished the BBA Challenge today with bread #43 – Sautéed Onion and Parmesan Miche! And what a spectacular finish it was! It all started with a sponge the day before yesterday. Easy-peasy, since I have a healthy starter sitting in my fridge, and water and bread flour are always available. Oh, I have to mention that I made only 1/3 recipe because I wasn’t sure we would like the bread and BBA fellow baker Phyl wrote that even a 1/2 recipe would make a huge miche.

On day 2, I sautéed the onions – the smell was incredibly good! To make the dough, I mixed bread flour, yeast, water, and the sponge, let it sit for 5 minutes, added the salt and olive oil, stirred, added half of the grated cheese and all of the chives and scallions. Instead of Asiago cheese (which I’ve never heard of and probably wouldn’t be able to track down here) I took Parmesan cheese. Even though I made only 1/3 recipe, it still called for 1 cup of grated cheese – what a cheesy bread.

Anyway, everything is kneaded for a while and fermented for 2-3 hours. The dough doubled in no time – that might be due to the fact that when I added the yeast I forgot to cut the amount into thirds. While adding, I thought: wow, 2  1/4 teaspoons of yeast – that’s a huge amount for a bread guru like Peter Reinhart who proclaims to use as little yeast as possible. I checked back with the recipe and realized this was the amount for the whole recipe. YES, you might think I should have learned by now to do the mis en place right. To be honest, I only occasionally do a mis en place. Thus, I was scraping as much yeast as possible out of the bowl, but I’m not at all sure there was 1/3 of 2 1/4 teaspoon left in the bowl. Sure, I could have measured what I scraped out, but there was some flour on the spoon, too, so that would have been a really difficult task. Oh well… What was I going to saying? Yes, the dough was rising fast…

After fermentation, I shaped the dough into a boule, put it on a sheet pan, stuck it in the fridge, covered it and let it rest overnight. Today I took it out, proofed it for about 2 hours, prepared the oven for hearth baking, brushed the dough with olive oil and made dimples all over the dough with my fingertips. I sprinkled the remaining cheese over the top, distributed the sautéed onions over the top of the cheese and let it rest for 20 minutes.

Into the oven it went for 35 minutes. This was the result: an extremely scrumptious bread full of cheese. I don’t want to know the calories of a single slice – that would be too depressing, I fear. The hubby and 3 kids were full of praise for me. I guess, this bread is a keeper!

And here’s a little fireworks to praise myself ;-).

What am I going to do now without the BBA Challenge? Oh, don’t worry. I’ll keep myself busy. There are: the Modern Bakers Challenge, the Mellow Bakers, the Globetrotter Bake-Off, the Daring Bakers & Cooks, Tigress’ Can Jam, Bread Baking Day, Bread Baking Buddies – you name it, I know it ;-).

14 responses to “BBA Challenge #43: Sautéed Onion and Parmesan Miche

  1. Wow that sounds wonderful!! I love onions, I dare say they are my favorite veggie. I think I will have to check out some of the other challenges that you listed. I love making bread and am trying my first homemade cheese this evening.

  2. Looks delicious! And congratulations on making the complete journey!!!!

  3. Woo hoo to you!!! Congratulations on finishing. And what a finish it was.

    I think we all can relate to your yeast mishap. Who hasn’t cut (or doubled) a recipe, only to realize you forgot to adjust some crucial ingredient?

    Anyway, nice job. Hope to see you on The Modern Baker Challenge!

  4. congratulations! So PR saves (one of the) best for last to keep our eye on the prize.

    I’m glad you have finished the BBA. You’ve got enough other challenges going on. though I’m thinking you added two new ones for the one you finished…

  5. CONGRATULATIONS!!! How exciting! And what a tasty bread to end on!!! I am so impressed with all of your challenges . . . looking forward to continuing to bake with you. =)

  6. Congratulations on finishing! As for the yeast mishap, it’s gotten so I write down all the new ingredient amounts whenever I increase or decrease a recipe. And I still mess up occasionally. =) Usually the sugar, for some reason…

  7. Yay!!! You did it! Congratulations on finishing the whole book. Fireworks are indeed deserved.

  8. Congrats, Andrea!

    So in the end, the excess yeast wasn’t a big problem, you knew it would simply rise faster. The loaf looks great!

    I just now did a huge Mis boo-boo too. Did you know that tossing 50g of salt into your dough instead of 50g of sugar changes it? Like, A LOT? Just thought I’d pass that on. And yes, I’m now on try #2 of Hot Cross Buns, our first group bake bread at MellowBakers.com.

    See you there soon!

  9. Congratulations! I’m thoroughly and totally jealous!

  10. Congratulations on finishing! I have enjoyed reading your posts and look forward to more in the future, especially your Modern and Mellow Baker posts!

  11. CONGRATS! Sorry, I’ve been out of the country and my net connections were iffy, so I’ve been out of the “loop”

    I’ll be paying attention to your baking for sure – don’t know what I’m going to do yet, it’s nice to be free of commitments for a while :-)

  12. Congratulations! Love the fire works.

  13. Congratulations! The miche and crumb look great. Well deserved fireworks.:)

  14. Pingback: BBA Challenge #38: Tuscan Bread « Three Clever Sisters

Leave a Reply

