Bonus Recipe for Can Jam #1: Lemon & Lime Syrup with Mint and Lemon Balm

This is not my official contribution to Tigress’ Can Jam – THAT you find here, but an optional one. It’s an old post, but some of the fellow canners might be interested in another possibility to can citrus fruit. I made this lemon & lime syrup last summer, when I had lots of mint and lemon balm in my backyard.  It makes a delicious lemonade. So, if you’re interested in how to use up lemons, limes and some herbs to make an extremely yummy syrup, you can read the full post here.

12 responses to “Bonus Recipe for Can Jam #1: Lemon & Lime Syrup with Mint and Lemon Balm

  1. That reminds me, I need to try to grow lemon balm this year ;-)

  2. Oooh, looks/sounds tasty! I made limoncello this year but it would be fun to put in mint/lemonbalm. Mmm!

  3. I’ve got a bunch of lemon balm – I will have to try this!

  4. I so wish I could grow lemons. Here’s a link to my blog post about the lemon curd: http://icanjam.blogspot.com/2010/01/lemon-curd_19.html

  5. Love the sound of this. Can you tell me how you process with those bottle lids? Do you just close them tightly and put in the canner? Any info would be useful thanks

    • Yep, exactly. I pour the hot syrup into the hot, sterilized bottles, close them tightly and put them in the canner. Then process at 90°C for 10 minutes. Same thing as with jam. Usually, I do not waterbath can my jams or marmalades (I waterbath canned the syrup and some raw preserves like blueberries and sour cherries, though), but I will for the challenge just to stick with the rules.

  6. Thanks for that. I feel really inspired now to make cordials and syrups and to waterbath process them, which is a new thing for me. At the end of 2010 we will all be experts! See you in Feb

  7. Pingback: My Own CanJam Roundup « Grow & Resist

  8. Wow does this look good, thank you! And, thanks for stopping by my blog!

  9. Pingback: canning « Parent Planet

  10. What type of bottles did you use here? Do you have recommendations on where to purchase them, or something similar?

    • I used bottles with a single-piece screw-on lid. I always get my jars and bottles here, but I live in Germany, so that might be kinda complicated for you. They do ship internationally, but that’s expensive!

Leave a Reply

