BBA Challenge #6: Challah

Challah

Next challenge in the BBA challenge – Challah. I was kind of nervous because of the braiding. I had made a “Hefezopf” for Easter 2 years ago, and couldn’t really figure out the braiding stuff, so I was hoping it would work out this time. But as you may have noticed in the picture above, I made a mistake – again…

But let’s start from the beginning. I mixed all the ingredients together, formed a boule and fermented it for about 1 hour. Then I kneaded it to degas it, reformed it into a boule and fermented it for another hour. It doubled in size – so far so good. I divided the dough into 3 equal pieces and formed each of them into a boule, covered them and let them rest for 10 minutes. I rolled out the pieces into strands and started braiding them as shown in the book. Still no problem. Then I rotated the loaf to braid the other end and somehow felt something was going wrong, but didn’t really think about it. I just continued braiding. I transferred the loaf to a pan, brushed it with egg wash and proofed it for about 60 minutes. This was the result:

braided challahHmm, the middle part looked kinda weird, but I couldn’t figure out what the problem was. It was like one end is mirroring the other one, even though the strands should all go in the same direction. So I was posting this question on twitter and after a while someone asked me if I had put the strands over instead of under after the 180° rotation. THAT WAS IT! I just hadn’t read the instruction carefully enough. Alright, so NOW I know what I have to do next time ;-).

Anyway, I brushed it again with egg wash and sprinkled it with some sesame seed, put it in the oven and baked it for about 40 minutes. It looked kinda pretty when it came out of the oven:

out of the oven

On twitter I was told that Challah makes an amazing French toast, so I took this recipe from Pinch My Salt. And, OMG, it was heavenly. My 3 kids had never eaten French toast before and were really sceptical about it, but they LOVED it and asked me to make it again soon. I’ll definitely respond to their wish soon! I can say, this Challah does make a fantastic French toast, but as I used the whole loaf for French toast (I had made only 1/2 recipe again) I can’t really tell what the plain Challah tasted like. Well, it can’t have been that bad, otherwise the French toast wouldn’t have been good, I guess.

3 responses to “BBA Challenge #6: Challah

  1. And now you’re all ready to braid the cranberry celebration bread!

  2. Pingback: Mellow Bakers October 2010 – Challah | Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

