Rhubarb Season (3) – Raspberry Rhubarb Grunt/ Cobbler

Raspberry Rhubarb Grunt

There was still some rhubarb left from my eco-box and my bargain at the grocery store, so I was looking on the internet for a new dish  I could use it for and stumbled upon a recipe published on Chocolate & Zucchini. Fresh fruit covered with lumps of dough and cooked in the oven sounded really appealing to me. The original recipe called for whole wheat flour, but as it was kinda late at night and I didn’t want to wake up my kids by grinding the wheat (yes, I DO have a flour mill at home and grind the grain as needed) I just used all-purpose flour I had at hand. Also, the original recipe used crème fraîche (=lightly soured cream), whereas the recipe the author was referring to was using  whipped double cream (= heavy cream). I figured I couldn’t do anything wrong by using normal whipping cream. As this dish should be served warm I prepared everything as far as it was ready to go in the oven and cooked it in the oven the next day. This worked totally fine. The result was refreshing, sweet but also kind of sour. I will definitely make this again.  This is the recipe I used:

Filling

  • 800 g/1,76 lb rhubarb (about 1 kg/2 lb untrimmed)
  • 250 g/8,82 oz  raspberries (frozen)
  • 100 g/0,5 cups brown sugar
  • 20 g/0,71 oz butter

Topping

  • 150 g/1,2 cups all/0,15 cups brown sugar
  • 1/2 teasp salt
  • 250 ml/1,06 cups whipping cream

Trim rhubarb and cut into half-inch chunks. Spread rhubarb chunks at the bottom of a greased 20×30 cm/8×12 inch ovenproof dish. Cover with raspberries and sprinkle with sugar. Cover with small pieces of butter.

Mix flour, sugar and salt. Whip the whipping cream. Gently combine cream with flour mixture. Cover fruit with spoonfuls of the dough.

Ready to go in the oven

Ready to go in the oven

Preheat oven to 200°C. Bake for about 45 minutes until the topping is lightly golden.

Ready to be eaten

Ready to be eaten

One response to “Rhubarb Season (3) – Raspberry Rhubarb Grunt/ Cobbler

  1. bowmansinbavaria

    Thank you for all the wonderful rhubarb recipes! Mmm. Rhubarb is one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

